The Learning Never Stops

So I have been reading up on unschooling and how it all works.  I am still not an expert on it, but I think I get the gist.  It is child-led learning.  Where the kid directs the way he learns and what he learns.  I have been leaning more and more toward that these last few months.  Mainly because he was so much easier to work with when we were doing projects and stuff that HE picked instead of the workbooks that I picked.  He loves math and science so pretty much anything done with those two interest him.  If I could figure out how to integrate Language Arts I might even go that route (even though I already bought our textbooks for next year).  I know he can learn a lot and I found out today that as long as he is in charge the learning really doesn’t stop.  The Hellion is with his dad for a couple of weeks so he called me today.  We spent over an hour on the phone together (he must have been bored) and most of that time was spent talking about geography and math.  His granny bought him some maps and he was telling me all about different places he wanted to learn about and places he wanted to go.  He was pointing out different features on the map and explaining the differences between islands and peninsulas and other land masses.  These are things we didn’t go over this year.  I was planning on doing geography next year and I can tell it is something he really wants to learn about.  He was giving me math problems and then having me give him some.  He wanted hard ones.  I gave him 72 x 9 and he did it in his head.  So now I am totally re-thinking next year and trying to find a way to make it so he wants to learn and I am still teaching him what he needs to know if he has to go back to school.  I think it is going to be an interesting summer and an even more interesting third grade experience.

Posted in Randomness

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Living Life in the Homeschool Lane on WordPress.com
Bad and Ugly of Retro Food

Our wonderful, frustrating, exciting, terrifying adventure in homeschooling. Just my son and I trying to figure out where we are going and how exactly to get there.

Lauren Gibaldi

Young Adult Author

For Kids & parents

Blog for children

Never an "Angie", Always a "Gela"

If your looking for expert advice, then this is not the page you seek.

JamericanSpice

Our wonderful, frustrating, exciting, terrifying adventure in homeschooling. Just my son and I trying to figure out where we are going and how exactly to get there.

