It isn’t all Rainbows and fun

 

I know I post about all the fun things we do and the cool activities we work on.  Today I want to talk about the flip side, the side I don’t usually let people know about.  I want everyone to think everything is going great and each day is one filled with learning and laughter.  It isn’t the case though and I would be lying if I didn’t say so.  We have our bad days.  We have days when he has a melt down or gets stubborn and doesn’t want to do the work.  I get frustrated and we both need a break from each other.

Usually we can take a break and move on from it.  Today wasn’t one of those days.  The day started off badly and quickly went down the drain.  We both had meltdowns today.  We both needed cool down time and had to walk away from each other for a short break.  Yeah I, as an adult and a parent, had a meltdown.  I went outside and screamed for a minute just to get some of my frustration out.  Then I thought about everything that had gone wrong today and realized, we need a new game plan!

We didn’t have a schedule, we just did things randomly and then took breaks when we felt like it.  Obviously we both need more structure.  So, our day wasn’t a total loss.  I learned that I need mental breaks just as much as the Hellion does and we both need a more organized day.  So that is what we are going to work on.  We are taking this week off!  We will do reading, typing and watch some videos and probably work on some projects we got behind on, but no “schoolwork”.  I am going to come up with a schedule and then we will try again next week.

This is one of those cool things about homeschooling, we can take this break and regroup and it won’t throw us off.  We don’t have to be done by a certain time, so we can work when and how we need to.  We have the rest of this week to figure out what is working for us and what isn’t.  So while our days aren’t all laughter and rainbows, even the bad days teach us something and we can work with them!

Posted in Randomness

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Living Life in the Homeschool Lane on WordPress.com
Bad and Ugly of Retro Food

Our wonderful, frustrating, exciting, terrifying adventure in homeschooling. Just my son and I trying to figure out where we are going and how exactly to get there.

Lauren Gibaldi

Young Adult Author

For Kids & parents

Blog for children

Never an "Angie", Always a "Gela"

If your looking for expert advice, then this is not the page you seek.

JamericanSpice

Our wonderful, frustrating, exciting, terrifying adventure in homeschooling. Just my son and I trying to figure out where we are going and how exactly to get there.

