Here There be Pirates

The Hellion is into the Magic Tree House books in a big way!  When I found out they had a website with lesson plans and other resources I was ecstatic!  Turns out I am not all that fond of their lesson plans.  They don’t work very well for me, though I have heard others say great things about them.  The we got to Pirates Past Noon and they have a pirate math treasure hunt!  The Hellion was all over this one!  It meant a day at the park, math review and Pirates, what could possibly be better?  (A pirate costume, maybe)

2013-08-19 08.34.41

Just before we started, he had to get his pose on!  We had designated one of the playground structures as HIS pirate boat.  He has a shield that goes with this pirate sword so we hung in on his boat (of course I forgot to get a picture of it).  I went around and “hid” the treasure maps with math questions on them.   At first he would get one, answer the question and then go after another one.

2013-08-19 08.35.39

That quickly got old, so he ran around like a crazy pirate and found all of them and then sat down and answered the questions.

2013-08-19 08.51.17

His prize for finding all of them and getting them all correct was a trip to his favorite restaurant for lunch!  All in all it was a great day and lots of fun!  Can’t wait till we read Night of the Ninja’s!

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Field Trips, School
4 comments on “Here There be Pirates
  1. I’m guessing you are reading right along with him and enjoying the fun eh 🙂

    I love that you homeschool. Wish I had been given the chance too.

    Enjoy the terrifyingly exciting journey 🙂

    • kma3010 says:

      LOL, of course! It is fun to read these kids books and gives me a break from the mind numbing textbooks I have to read for my classes!

      I wish you had as well, it is an awesome experience!

      Thanks Col, I plan on enjoying it for as long as I can!

  2. Penguin Momma says:

    you are making it exciting for him!
    I cannot wait to home school next year. I think Al and Ci will benefit from that rather that the rigid rule at a public school.

    • kma3010 says:

      You are going to do a fabulous job at it. I agree, I think the opportunity to learn the way that works best for them is really going to help them! I know the Hellion is doing so much better than he did in PS.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Follow Living Life in the Homeschool Lane on WordPress.com
Bad and Ugly of Retro Food

Our wonderful, frustrating, exciting, terrifying adventure in homeschooling. Just my son and I trying to figure out where we are going and how exactly to get there.

Lauren Gibaldi

Young Adult Author

For Kids & parents

Blog for children

Never an "Angie", Always a "Gela"

If your looking for expert advice, then this is not the page you seek.

JamericanSpice

Our wonderful, frustrating, exciting, terrifying adventure in homeschooling. Just my son and I trying to figure out where we are going and how exactly to get there.

